The U.V. Helava Award


Dr. Uuno V. Helava

The publisher of the ISPRS Journal of Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (herein referred to as 'the Journal'), Elsevier B.V., and Leica Geosystems AG, have agreed to jointly present "The U.V. Helava Award"* to encourage and stimulate submission of high quality scientific papers by individual authors or groups to the Journal, to promote and advertise the Journal, and to honour the outstanding contributions of Dr. Uuno V. Helava to research and development in Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing.


The award will be made in accordance with the following regulations:

Article 1
The award, which consists of a plaque and a grant of SFr. 10,000, will be presented every four years to the author(s) of an outstanding paper on one of the topics included in the scope of the Journal. The recipient(s) of the U.V. Helava Award shall receive the award only once.

Article 2
Candidates for the award shall be authors of a paper written in English, and published exclusively in the Journal during the four year period from 1 January of a Congress year, to 31 December of the year prior to the next Congress (referred herein as 'the evaluation period'). For multiple authored papers, the grant shall be split equally among the authors; only one plaque will be given.

Article 3
A five member jury of high scientific standing, whose expertise covers the main topics included in the scope of the Journal, comprising four experts proposed by the Editor-in-Chief of the Journal and one scientist proposed by Leica Geosystems AG, shall be appointed by the ISPRS Council. Jury members shall be designated by ISPRS Council at its last meeting of the year prior to the Congress, for the four year evaluation period of the award. The Editor-in-Chief of the Journal shall serve as secretary of the jury, without voting rights.

Article 4
The Jury shall select the best paper published in the Journal for each year of the evaluation period (referred to herein as 'best papers'). The author(s) of the best papers shall be announced annually in the Journal, ISPRS eBulletin and ISPRS WEB site. Individuals may receive recognition as authors of best papers more than once. At the end of the four year evaluation period, the Jury shall select the most outstanding paper of the four best papers of the evaluation period, for receipt of the U.V. Helava Award. The authors of the three runner-up best papers shall receive a certificate and a one-year free subscription to the Journal.

Article 5
Members of the Jury and the Editor-in-Chief shall not be eligible to receive the U.V. Helava Award or 'best paper' award.

Article 6
The Award shall be presented to the recipient(s) by the President of ISPRS and a representative of each sponsor at a plenary session of the Congress.

* The name "U.V. Helava" is used with kind permission from Mrs. Inkeri Helava and Dr. Heikki Helava
Amendments approved by the Award Sponsors and ISPRS Council on 5 April 2004.
Amendments approved by the Award Sponsors and ISPRS Council on 9th September 2009

The members of the Jury for the UV Helava Award are:

  • Songnian Li, Ryerson University, Canada
  • Helmut Mayer, Bundeswehr University Munich, Germany
  • Xiaoli Ding, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong
  • Peijun Li, Peking University, China
  • Anjana Vyas, CEPT University, India

The winners of the award

Period 2022-2025


Period 2020-2021


Period 2016-2019


Period 2012-2015


Period 2008-2011


Period 2004-2007


Period 2000-2003


Period 1996-1999



The International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing is a non-governmental organization devoted to the development of international cooperation for the advancement of photogrammetry and remote sensing and their applications. The Society operates without any discrimination on grounds of race, religion, nationality, or political philosophy.

Our Contact

Leibniz University Hannover
Institute of Photogrammetry and GeoInformation
Nienburger Str. 1
D-30167 Hannover