The Giuseppe Inghilleri Award


Professor Giuseppe Inghilleri

In 2008 the Italian Society for Surveying and Photogrammetry (SIFET) established an award in honour of Professor Giuseppe Inghilleri.
Giuseppe Inghilleri (1924-1982), full Professor of Geodesy and Photogrammetry, was Head of the Institute of Geodesy at the Politecnico di Torino from 1962 until 1977. His scientific work greatly enhanced the mathematical and statistical foundations of photogrammetry, surveying and mapping science. In 1972, at the ISP Congress in Ottawa, he presented an innovative analytical stereo-plotter, produced in the following years by Officine Galileo. He served as President of the ISPRS Technical Commission II from 1972 – 1976 and President of the SIFET from 1979 to 1982.


Article 1
The award shall be known as the "Giuseppe Inghilleri Award" and shall normally be granted at each Congress of the International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ISPRS).

Article 2
The Giuseppe Inghilleri Award shall consist of a certificate and SwF 2,500, from the Italian Society for Surveying and Photogrammetry. Presentation shall be made at an appropriate event, preferably a plenary session or General Assembly of the Congress.

Article 3
The recipient shall be a person who has significantly enhanced the applications of photogrammetry, remote sensing or spatial information sciences in the 4 years preceding the Congress. All nominations shall be supported by appropriate documentary evidence of the candidate's work.

Article 4
Nominations for the "Giuseppe Inghilleri Award" shall reach the President of ISPRS not later than 6 months prior to the Congress at which it will be presented. Candidates may not self-nominate.

Article 5
The Jury of the "Giuseppe Inghilleri Award" shall consist of:

  • The President of ISPRS (Chair of Jury)
  • The Secretary General of ISPRS
  • The President of SIFET or its nominee.

The Jury shall decide no later than 4 months before the ISPRS Congress. The decision shall be made by simple majority. The Jury may decide not to present an award. The decision of the Jury shall be final.

Article 6
No Members of ISPRS Council or the Jury shall be eligible to receive the award.

The winners of the award

  • 2012 Yun Zhang, Canada
  • 2016 Sander Oude Elberink, The Netherlands
  • 2020 Cheng Wang, China
    2020 Marc-Pierrot Deseilligny, France



The International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing is a non-governmental organization devoted to the development of international cooperation for the advancement of photogrammetry and remote sensing and their applications. The Society operates without any discrimination on grounds of race, religion, nationality, or political philosophy.

Our Contact

Leibniz University Hannover
Institute of Photogrammetry and GeoInformation
Nienburger Str. 1
D-30167 Hannover