The Wang Zhizhuo Award


Prof. Dr. WANG Zhizhuo

The Chinese Society of Geodesy, Photogrammetry and Cartography (CSGPC) decided, in 2004, to present a periodic award for encouraging advancement of the spatial information sciences in memory of Prof. Dr. WANG Zhizhuo, initiator of photogrammetry and remote sensing in China, Professor and Honorary President of Wuhan Technical University of Surveying and Mapping, a senior Academician of the Chinese Academy of Science, and elected Honorary Member of the International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ISPRS) in 1988.


Article 1
The award shall be known as The Wang Zhizhuo Award and shall consist of a medal and a monetary grant (SwF 2,500). It will be granted at each quadrennial ISPRS Congress to a person who has made significant achievement or innovation in the spatial information sciences.

Article 2
The significant achievement or innovation in the spatial information sciences shall be a proven contribution in whatever form; whether a fundamentally new theory or algorithm, a major completed program or project, or a fundamentally new application. The value of the achievement or innovation should be proven not less than two years, and no more than twelve years prior to the Congress at which the award is to be presented.

Article 3
The ISPRS Council shall issue an invitation for nominations of candidates to all Ordinary, Regional and Associate Members two years in advance of each Congress. Nominations are to be submitted in writing to the President of ISPRS at least six months in advance of the Congress and shall be accompanied by documentation describing the proven contribution in sufficient detail to enable full evaluation by the jury. Candidates may not self nominate.

Article 4
The selection of the person to receive the award shall be decided by the jury. The jury shall consist of the President of ISPRS, the Secretary General of ISPRS, and the President of the Chinese Society of Geodesy, Photogrammetry and Cartography (CSGPC) or its nominee. The selection shall be made by unanimous vote. The decision of the jury shall be final.

Article 5
The name of the recipient of the award shall be announced at the Congress, and the award shall be presented to the person at an appropriate event of the Congress by a member of ISPRS Council and a representative of the CSGPC.

Approved by Council, March 19, 2018

The winners of the award

  • 2008 Christopher Gold, UK
  • 2012 John Shi, Hong Kong
  • 2016 Andrew Hudson-Smith, UK
  • 2020 Wolfgang Kainz, Austria


Nice 2022
XXIVth ISPRS Congress:

June 6-11, 2022

The International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing is a non-governmental organization devoted to the development of international cooperation for the advancement of photogrammetry and remote sensing and their applications. The Society operates without any discrimination on grounds of race, religion, nationality, or political philosophy.

Our Contact

Leibniz University Hannover
Institute of Photogrammetry and GeoInformation
Nienburger Str. 1
D-30167 Hannover